A Guide to Eat a Healthy Balanced Diet

Healthy Balanced Diet

A healthy balanced diet contains items from all five major food categories and meets all of a person’s nutritional needs. Eating a healthy, well-balanced diet helps people stay healthy and reduces their risk of illness.

Dietary standards change in response to scientific breakthroughs, making it difficult to know what to consume.

In this post, we will examine current dietary guidelines by the experts and explain how to create a healthy balanced diet.

What is a healthy balanced diet?

Eating a well-balanced diet keeps a person healthy and stable.

A well-balanced diet meets all the nutritional requirements of the body. All human beings require a particular amount of calories and nutrients to maintain their health.

A well-balanced diet delivers all of the essential nutrients a person needs while staying under the daily calorie limit.

These nutrients can be obtained by eating a variety of foods. The United States Department of Agriculture used to advise people to eat a balanced diet according to a food pyramid. However, as nutritional knowledge has progressed, they now advocate consuming items from each of the five food categories.

They advise constructing a balanced plate of all essential food groups throughout your daily meals.

Half of a person’s plate must be filled up with fruits and vegetables.

The remaining half should be composed of grains and protein. They recommend having a dish of low-fat dairy products or another source of the nutrients present in dairy with each meal.

5 major food groups in your diet

A healthy and well-balanced diet comprises items from the following five major food categories:

1. Vegetables

It is further divided into five subgroups:

  • Leafy green vegetables
  • Veggies in red or orange color
  • Legumes like beans, peas, and chickpeas
  • Starch containing vegetables like potatoes
  • Vegetables containing other essential nutrients

People should eat a variety of veggies to receive essential nutrients and avoid dietary monotony.

Furthermore, the USDA recommends that adults should eat vegetables from each of the five groupings at least once a week.

Vegetables can be eaten raw or cooked. You may add them to your diet in the form of salads, soups, and stews. It is crucial to note, that boiling the vegetables destroys part of their nutritious content. Furthermore, some procedures, such as deep-frying, might introduce unhealthful lipids into a dish.

Learn more about what are the best ways to eat more vegetables?

2. Fruits

Fruit is an important part of a well-balanced and healthy diet. Instead of drinking juice, nutritionists urge eating entire fruits.

Juice contains fewer nutrients than whole fruits. In addition, empty calories are frequently added during the production process as a result of additional sugar.

Instead of syrup, people should eat fresh or frozen fruits or canned fruits in water.

3. Grains

Grains have two subcategories:

  • Whole grains
  • Processed grains

Whole grains provide more protein than processed grains. These are composed of all three parts of the grain: bran, germ, and endosperm. Because whole grains are broken down slowly by the body, they have less impact on raising blood sugar levels.

Furthermore, whole grains include more fiber and protein than processed grains. It helps in preventing many diseases like constipation and diabetes.

Refined grains are treated and finely crushed. They lack the three original components of whole grain. Refined grains are also lower in protein and fiber, and they might trigger blood sugar surges.

Grains used to be at the bottom of the government-approved dietary pyramid, which meant that grains accounted for the majority of a person’s daily calorie intake. However, according to the current rules, grains should account for only one-quarter of a person’s plate.

At least half of a person’s daily grain intake must be comprised of whole grains. They are good to include in diet like brown rice, quinoa, oats, barley, and buckwheat.

4. Protein

According to the 2015–2020 Dietary Guidelines for Americans, all persons should incorporate nutrient-dense protein in their daily diet.

This protein should account for one-quarter of a person’s plate.

Protein sources that are nutritious include:

  • Lean beef
  • Turkey
  • Fish
  • Chicken
  • Legumes, lentils, and beans

5. Dairy

Calcium is found in plenty of food products including dairy and fortified soy products. When feasible, the USDA recommends eating low-fat alternatives like:

  • Low-fat yogurt
  • Ricotta or cheddar cheese
  • Low-fat milk
  • Soy milk

Lactose intolerant people can choose lactose-free products, or soy-based calcium sources to meet their daily calcium requirements.

Eating a healthy balanced diet

Eating a healthy and balanced diet is essential to achieving good health. It may help you feel good and fit.

A healthy diet includes eating plenty of fruits, vegetables, nuts, grains, seeds, and dairy products with a wide range of nutrients. It is also recommended to consume the right portion of each nutrient to achieve and maintain healthy body weight.

People with unique dietary needs or medical conditions should seek guidance from their doctor or a qualified dietician before adding multiple foods to their diet.

Want to lose weight?

Along with adding multiple healthy foods to your diet, it is essential to adopt a few habits to lose weight:

  • Taking the stairs instead of elevator can help a person burn more calories.
  • A person may face weight loss difficulties due to a poor diet.
  • A balanced diet with a regular exercise plan can assist a person lower the risk of obesity.

A balanced diet can assist a person in losing weight by:

  • Avoiding excessive carbs or processed meals
  • Obtaining vital nutrients such as minerals, vitamins, and fiber
  • Increasing protein consumption
  • Reducing binge eating

If you want to lose weight: you need to start or improve your workout habits.

Some people find that increasing their daily walking time to 30 minutes and making minor changes, such as using the stairs, helps them burn calories and lose weight.


Eating foods from the five major food categories constitutes a healthy and balanced diet.

Dietary recommendations evolve as scientists learn more about nutrition. According to current standards, a person’s plate should include most vegetables and fruits, with some lean protein, dairy, and soluble fiber.

If you want to lose weight, you should also consider including low to moderate exercise in your daily routines.

Spread the love